Skip to content
Home page
What's new
Site map
Frequently asked questions

Berwick-upon-Tweed Town Council,
Berwick WorkSpace,
Boarding School Yard,
90 Marygate,
TD15 1BN
T: 01289 302391

Follow us on Facebook

Introduction to Berwick-upon-Tweed Town Council

BTC Logo (Blue)


Berwick-upon-Tweed Town Council was created on 3rd March 2008 and has 16 voluntary Councillors who represent 7 wards covering Berwick, Tweedmouth and Spittal, which have a combined population of about 12,000.

The Council meets in Berwick's Town Hall. In addition there are committees which focus on Budget & Administration, Local Services, People & Communities and Planning. Residents of Berwick-upon-Tweed are encouraged to attend Town Council meetings to discuss local issues; the dates of meetings can be found here.

The aim of the Town Council is to find ways of improving services and facilities for Berwick, Spittal and Tweedmouth. By providing grants it helps local community groups with projects and events. Members also try and ensure the community's interests are considered by other local and regional bodies.

The Town Mayor carries out a range of civic duties during the year, as well as chairing the Council. The Civic Party is made up of the Town Mayor, Mayoress (or Mayor's Consort), the Sheriff and Sheriff's Lady.  The Town Council is staffed by a Town Clerk, an Assistant to the Clerk and a Finance Officer who are based in The Berwick WorkSpace on Marygate (see below for contact details). The Civic Party is supported by the Sergeant-at-Mace and Halberdier.

The principal authority for Berwick-upon-Tweed is Northumberland County Council.  Information about County Councillors for the town of Berwick-upon-Tweed can be found here.


Contact the Town Council.


Council Documents.

Financial Information.

Municipal Calendar 2018 - 2019.

Council and Committees.

Mission Statement.

Map of Wards.

Mayoralty - including civic events.