BERWICK-UPON-TWEED TOWN COUNCIL

Minutes of the Annual Town Council Meeting held on Monday 11 May 2009 at 6 pm in the Council Chamber, Town Hall, Marygate, Berwick-Upon-Tweed

PRESENT:

Councillors:	P Herdman	(Town Mayor, Chairman for Item 1)
	F Simpson	(Deputy Town Mayor, Chairman for Item 2 onwards)
	J Beresford	
	H Bettison	
	A Bowlas	
	G Hill	
	A Houghton	
	I Hunter	
	M McNeely	
	V Pauline	
	J Robertson	
	C Routledge	
	J Smith	
	D Stewart	
	J Waterhouse	

IN ATTENDANCE:

- J Hutchinson
- R Hutchinson
- A Rogerson
- S Finch

Three members of the public and invited guests.

The retiring Town Mayor, Councillor P Herdman, gave a short address outlining developments and progress during the Council's first year.

C001/09 1. ELECTION OF TOWN MAYOR

The retiring Town Mayor, Councillor P Herdman, proposed, and Councillor J Waterhouse seconded, the proposition that Councillor F Simpson be elected Town

Mayor of Berwick-upon-Tweed for the year 2009/2010.

RESOLVED: That Councillor F Simpson be appointed Town Mayor of Berwick-upon-Tweed for the year 2009/2010.

The Town Mayor signed the Declaration of Acceptance of Office and took the Chair for the remainder of the meeting.

Ch'mn initials

Following her formal presentation to the Town Council, the Town Mayor gave a short address thanking the outgoing Town Mayor and introducing members of the incoming Civic Party, including Mayor's Consort Mr Alan Rogerson.

C002/09 2. ELECTION OF DEPUTY TOWN MAYOR

The Town Mayor proposed, and Councillor H Bettison seconded, the proposition that Councillor J Waterhouse be elected Deputy Town Mayor of Berwick-upon-Tweed for the year 2009/2010.

RESOLVED: That Councillor J Waterhouse be appointed Deputy Town Mayor of Berwick-upon-Tweed for the year 2009/2010.

The Deputy Town Mayor signed the Declaration of Acceptance of Office.

C003/09 3. APPOINTMENT OF SHERIFF

The Town Mayor announced her appointment of Mr James Hutchinson as Sheriff for the year 2009/10, and of Mrs Rosy Hutchinson as Sheriff's Lady.

Following his formal presentation to the Council by the retiring Sheriff Mrs Barbara Herdman, the Sheriff signed the Declaration of Acceptance of Office and gave a short address in appreciation of his appointment.

C004/09 4. APOLOGIES

No apologies for absence had been received.

C005/09 5. MINUTES

The minutes of the meeting held on 27 April 2009 were agreed and signed as a correct record.

C006/09 6. DISCLOSURES OF INTEREST

There were no disclosures of interest.

C007/09 7. STATEMENTS BY THE PUBLIC

There were no statements by the public.

C008/09 8. APPOINTMENT OF STANDING COMMITTEES

The membership of Standing Committees as circulated in Appendix B was agreed, with the following additions.

Councillors P Herdman and J Robertson would become additional members of the Planning Committee.

Councillor P Herdman would become a member of the Events Committee and of the Staffing Committee.

Ch'mn initials

The Committee membership as attached as an appendix to these minutes.

C009/09 9. APPOINTMENTS TO OUTSIDE BODIES

The appointments of Town Councillors to outside bodies as circulated in Appendix C was agreed. In addition:

RESOLVED: That Councillor H Bettison represent the Town Council on the Domestic Violence Forum.

The revised list is attached as an appendix to these minutes.

C010/10 10. MEETINGS OF THE COUNCIL AND COMMITTEES 2009 2010

The calendar of meetings for 2009-2010 which had been tabled was noted.

C011/09 11. MOTION PROPOSED BY COUNCILLOR BRIAN DOUGLAS

In accordance with Standing Order 20, the recommendation specified in the Summons was, in the absence of the member who gave notice of it, treated as withdrawn.

CO33/08 DATE OF NEXT MEETING

The next meeting would be held on Monday 14 September 2009 at 6 pm in The William Elder Building.

STANDING COMMITTEES 2009-2010 (APPENDIX B)

1. Finance and Resources Committee

Councillor Bowlas Councillor Hunter Councillor Robertson Town Mayor Deputy Town Mayor

2. Planning Committee

Councillor Herdman Councillor Hill Councillor McNeely Councillor Pauline Councillor Robertson Councillor Routledge Councillor Stewart Town Mayor Deputy Town Mayor

3. Events Committee

Councillor Beresford Councillor Bettison Councillor Herdman Councillor Smith Councillor Waterhouse Town Mayor Deputy Town Mayor

4. Environment and Regeneration Committee

Councillor Houghton Councillor McNeely Councillor Robertson Councillor Routledge Town Mayor Deputy Town Mayor

5. Staffing Committee

Councillor Bowlas Councillor Herdman Councillor Hill Councillor Robertson Vacancy Town Mayor Deputy Town Mayor

APPOINTMENTS TO OUTSIDE BODIES 2009-2010 (APPENDIX C)

	Name of Organisation	Representative/s in 2008/09	Term of Appointment
1.	Berwick's Future Steering Group Membership	Councillors M McNeely and J Robertson	Annual
2.	Berwick Community Development Trust	Councillor A Bowlas	Annual
3.	Berwick Play Partnership	Councillor H Bettison	Annual
4.	Berwick-upon-Tweed Corporation (Freemen) Trustees	Councillor J Robertson Councillor P Herdman Councillor J Smith Councillor H Bettison	1 year until 30 November 2009
5.	Cittaslow Working Group	Councillors A Houghton and J Robertson	Annual
6.	Conservation Area Advisory Group	Councillor A Houghton	Annual
7.	Crime and Disorder Reduction Partnership	Councillor H Bettison	Annual
8.	Domestic Violence Forum	Councillor H Bettison	Annual
9.	Gateway Group	Councillor F Simpson	Annual
10.	Town Partnership	Councillor J Robertson	Annual