BERWICK-UPON-TWEED TOWN COUNCIL

Minutes of the Annual Town Council Meeting held on Monday 13 May 2013 at 6.00 pm in the Council Chamber, Town Hall, Marygate, Berwick-Upon-Tweed

PRESENT:

Councillors: J Robertson (Town Mayor, Chairman for Item 1)

I Hunter (Deputy Town Mayor, Chairman for Item 2 onwards)

H Bettison

I Dixon P Elliott

T Forrester
A Gibson
G Hill

G Jones

G Roughead
C Seymour
F Simpson

J Stephenson

IN ATTENDANCE:

S Finch, Town Clerk

S Cozens, Assistant to the Clerk

J Benton, Sergeant-at-Mace

5 members of the public

The retiring Town Mayor, Councillor J Robertson will present his end-of-term address at the Mayor Making Ceremony on Monday, 20 May 2013

C001/13 1. ELECTION OF TOWN MAYOR

The retiring Town Mayor, Councillor J Robertson, proposed, and Councillor H Bettison, seconded, the proposition that Councillor I Hunter be elected Town

Mayor of Berwick-upon-Tweed for the year 2013/2014.

RESOLVED: That Councillor I Hunter be appointed Town Mayor of Berwick-upon-Tweed for the year 2013/2014.

The Town Mayor signed the Declaration of Acceptance of Office and took the Chair for the remainder of the meeting.

C002/13 2. ELECTION OF DEPUTY TOWN MAYOR

Councillor I Hunter proposed, and Councillor F Simpson seconded, the proposition that Councillor G Hill be elected Deputy Town Mayor of Berwick-upon-Tweed for the year 2013/2014.

RESOLVED: That Councillor G Hill be appointed Deputy Town Mayor of Berwick-upon-Tweed for the year 2013/2014.

C003/13 3. APPOINTMENT OF SHERIFF

The Town Mayor announced her appointment of Mr Michael Richardson as Sheriff for the year 2013/2014, and of Mrs Kate Stephenson as Sheriff's Lady.

C004/13 4. STATEMENTS BY THE PUBLIC

There were no statements by members of the public present.

C005/13 5. APOLOGIES FOR ABSENCE

Apologies for absence had been accepted from: Councillors J Beresford (holiday).

C006/13 6. MINUTES

The minutes of the meeting held on 25 March 2013 were agreed and signed as a correct record.

C007/13 7. DISCLOSURE OF INTERESTS

Councillor G Hill declared a personal and prejudicial interest in Item 12 (Application for Financial Assistance).

C008/13 8. REQUEST FOR DISPENSATION

There were no requests for dispensation.

C009/13 9. APPOINTMENT OF STANDING COMMITTEES

The membership of Standing Committees for 2013-2014 was agreed and is set out in Appendix A attached to these minutes.

C010/13 10. REPORT OF MEMBER ACTIVITIES AND ATTENDANCE

Members noted the reports from those councillors who had provided information about the bodies on which they represented the Town Council.

Members noted the record of Councillor attendance for the Year 2012/2013.

C011/13 11. APPOINTMENTS TO OUTSIDE BODIES

The appointment of Town Councillors to outside bodies as circulated in Appendix C was reviewed, amended and agreed.

The revised list is attached as Appendix C to these minutes.

C012/13 12. APPLICATION FOR FINANCIAL ASSISTANCE

RESOLVED: (i) To make £240 available to West End Residents Association.

C013/13 13. SIGNATORIES TO BANK ACCOUNT

RESOLVED: That Councillors G Hill, I Hunter, J Robertson, G Roughead, J Stephenson and F Simpson be appointed as signatories to the Town Council Bank Accounts.

C014/13 14. PLANNING COMMITTEE

RESOLVED: To adopt the minutes of the Planning Committee meetings held on 26 March 2013 and 23 April 2013.

C015/13 15. FINANCE AND RESOURCES COMMITTEE

RESOLVED: To adopt the minutes of the Finance and Resources Committee meeting held on 22 April 2013.

C016/13 16. DATE OF NEXT MEETING

The next meeting of the Council would be held on Monday 24 June 2013 at 6 pm.

STANDING COMMITTEES 2013-2014 (APPENDIX A)

1. Finance and Resources Committee

Councillor Philip Elliott

Councillor Thomas Forrester

Councillor Gregah Roughead

Councillor John Robertson

Councillor John Stephenson

Town Mayor

Deputy Town Mayor

2. Planning Committee

Councillor Ivor Dixon

Councillor Philip Elliott

Councillor Thomas Forrester

Councillor Gregah Roughead

Councillor Catherine Seymour

Town Mayor

Deputy Town Mayor

3. Events Committee

Councillor Jeanette Beresford

Councillor Hazel Bettison

Councillor Ivor Dixon

Councillor Philip Elliott

Councillor John Robertson

Councillor Gregah Roughead

Councillor Flora Simpson

Town Mayor

Deputy Town Mayor

4. Environment and Regeneration Committee

Councillor Ivor Dixon

Councillor Philip Elliott

Councillor Alex Gibson

Councillor Gavin Jones

Councillor John Robertson

Councillor Gregah Roughead

Councillor Flora Simpson

Councillor John Stephenson

Town Mayor

Deputy Town Mayor

5. Staffing Committee

Councillor Hazel Bettison

Councillor Gregah Roughead

Councillor Catherine Seymour

Councillor Flora Simpson

Councillor John Stephenson

Town Mayor

Deputy Town Mayor

APPOINTMENTS TO OUTSIDE BODIES 2013-2014 (APPENDIX C)

Name of Organisation	Representative/s in	Term of
	13-14	Appointment
Berwick Community Trust	Councillor J Stephenson	Annual
Berwick Town Team	Councillor J Robertson	Annual
Berwick-upon-Tweed	Councillor H Bettison	1 year until 30th
Corporation (Freemen)	Councillor I Dixon	November 2013
Trustees	Councillor T Forrester	
	Councillor F Simpson	
From November 2012	Councillor J Stephenson	
Cittaslow Working Group	Councillor F Simpson	Annual
Conservation Area Advisory	Councillor C Seymour	Annual
Group		
Local Multi-Agency Partnership	Councillor H Bettison	Annual
(LMAP)	Councillor J Robertson	
Gateway Group	Councillor F Simpson	Annual
Berwick Fair Trade	Councillor F Simpson	Annual
Berwick Youth Project	Councillor J Stephenson	Annual
Northumberland Association of	Councillor J Robertson	Annual
Local Councils (NALC) -		
County Committee		
Tweedmouth Prior Park First	Deferred to the next meeting	Annual
School	of Council.	
Berwick in Bloom	Councillor A Gibson	Annual

Riding of the Bounds	Councillor H Bettison	Annual
Association		
St Aidans	Councillor I Dixon	Annual
Berwick 900	Councillor H Bettison	To 2015
	Councillor J Robertson	
Tourism Forum	Councillor J Robertson	Annual
		Permanent
Berwick Youth Council	Councillor A Gibson	Annual
	Councillor G Roughead	
	Councillor J Robertson	