BERWICK-UPON-TWEED TOWN COUNCIL

Minutes of the Annual Town Council Meeting held on Monday 15 May 2017 at 6.00 pm in the Council Chamber, Town Hall, Marygate, Berwick-Upon-Tweed

PRESENT:

Councillors:	l Dixon	(Town Mayor, Chairman up to Item 2)
	G Roughead	(Chairman from Item 3 onwards)
	H Bettison	
	A Bowlas	
	R Bruce	
	B Douglas	
	A Forbes	
	T Forrester	
	A Gibson	
	K Graham	
	H Nichols	
	B Parkin	
	G Smith	
	L Stephenson	

IN ATTENDANCE:

Steve Cozens, Proper Officer Cllr Brian Douglas, Sheriff Joyce Benton, Sergeant-at-Mace Robert Welsh, Halberdier 27 members of the public approximately

The Mayor welcomed new Members to the Town Council.

C001/17 1. THE TOWN MAYOR END-OF-TERM ADDRESS

The retiring Town Mayor, Councillor Ivor Dixon, gave an address highlighting the most

memorable moments from his term of office and mentioned in particular Flagstaff Park, the introduction of CCTV, the Investors and Small Business Conferences and the granting of the Freedom of the Town to 5 Military Intelligence Battalion.

Councillor Dixon went on to thank fellow Councillors and Council Officers including both civic and office based staff.

C002/17 2. ELECTION OF TOWN MAYOR

Councillor Gregah Roughead was proposed by Councillor Ivor Dixon and seconded by Councillor Hazel Bettison.

Councillor Gregah Roughead thanked all Councillors and promised to work for Berwick at town and county level.

RESOLVED: That Councillor Gregah Roughead be appointed Town Mayor of Berwick-upon-Tweed for the year 2017/2018.

The Town Mayor signed the Declaration of Acceptance of Office and took the Chair for the remainder of the meeting.

C003/17 3. ELECTION OF DEPUTY TOWN MAYOR

Councillor Brian Douglas was proposed by Councillor Anne Forbes and seconded by Councillor Tom Forrester.

RESOLVED: That Councillor Brian Douglas be appointed Deputy Town Mayor of Berwick-upon-Tweed for the year 2017/2018.

C004/17 4. APPOINTMENT OF SHERIFF

Councillor Gregah Roughead announced the members of the Civic Party. However, an announcement regarding who would fill which role would be made in due course, once a decision had been made.

C005/17 5. APOLOGIES FOR ABSENCE

There were no apologies for absence.

C006/17 6. MINUTES

The minutes of the Berwick-upon-Tweed Town Council meeting held on 24 April 2017 were agreed and signed as a correct record.

C007/17 7. CO-OPTION OF MEMBERS

Council **RESOLVED** to defer the co-option of Members to the vacant seats at Upper Spittal Ward until the Council meeting in June.

C008/17 8. DISCLOSURE OF INTERESTS

There were no disclosures of interests.

C009/17 9. REQUEST FOR DISPENSATION

There were no requests for dispensation.

C010/17 10. NEIGHBOURHOOD PLAN STEERING GROUP

- Council **RESOLVED** to appoint Councillors Robert Bruce, Ivor Dixon, Brian Douglas, Anne Forbes, Karin Graham and Gregah Roughead as members of the Neighbourhood Plan Steering Group.
- ii. Council **RESOLVED** to formally approach ex-Councillor Eric Goodyer to enquire if he would continue in the role of Chair of the Neighbourhood Plan Steering Group. Council also **RESOLVED** that the Vice-Chair should be selected at the next meeting of the steering group.

C011/17 11. APPOINTMENT OF MEMBERS TO COMMITTEES

The membership of Standing Committees for 2017-2018 was agreed as follows:

Budget and Administration – Cllrs R Bruce, B Douglas, A Forbes, A Gibson and G Roughead.

Local Services – Cllrs A Bowlas, R Bruce, B Douglas, A Gibson, K Graham, H Nichols, B Parkin, G Roughead and L Stephenson.

People and Communities – Cllrs H Bettison, R Bruce, I Dixon, B Douglas, K Graham, H Nichols, B Parkin, G Roughead and L Stephenson.

Planning – Cllrs A Bowlas, R Bruce, I Dixon, B Douglas, A Forbes, G Roughead and G Smith.

C012/17 12. REPORT OF MEMBER ACTIVITIES AND ATTENDANCE

Members noted the reports from those councillors who had provided information about the bodies on which they represented the Town Council.

Members noted the record of Councillor attendance for the Year 2016/2017.

C013/17 13. APPOINTMENTS TO OUTSIDE BODIES

The appointment of Town Councillors to outside bodies as circulated in Appendix E was reviewed, amended and agreed.

The revised list is attached as Appendix E to these minutes.

14. DIRECT DEBITS AND AUTOMATIC PAYMENTS C014/17 Council **RESOLVED** to approve continuation of current direct debit payments and **RESOLVED** to approve the setting up of a new direct debit to pay for G Suite (Council emails). **15. RE-APPOINTMENT OF INTERNAL AUDITOR** C015/17 **RESOLVED:** To appoint Ryecroft Glenton as internal auditor for the financial year 2016-2017. **16. SIGNATORIES TO BANK ACCOUNT** C016/17 **RESOLVED:** Councillors A Bowlas and K Graham to be appointed as additional signatories to the Town Council Bank Accounts. C017/17 **17. DATE OF NEXT MEETING** The next meeting of the Council would be held on Monday 19 June 2017 at 6 pm.

APPOINTMENTS TO OUTSIDE BODIES 2017-2018 (APPENDIX E)

Representative/s in	Term of
17-18	Appointment
Cllr I Dixon	Annual
Cllr H Bettison	1 year until 30th
Cllr I Dixon	November 2018
Mr J Lang	
Cllr G Roughead	*Decision on membership
Ms C Seymour	was deferred until
	November 2017
No representative	Annual
Cllr A Gibson	Annual
Cllr A Forbes	Annual
Cllr A Bowlas	Annual
Cllr K Graham	Annual
Chair / Vice Chair of the Council	Annual
Cllr B Parkin	Annual
Cllr K Graham	Annual
	17-18Cllr I DixonCllr H BettisonCllr I DixonMr J LangCllr G RougheadMs C SeymourNo representativeCllr A GibsonCllr A ForbesCllr A BowlasCllr K GrahamChair / Vice Chair of the CouncilCllr B Parkin

St Aidans	Cllr L Stephenson	Annual
Sure Start Children's Board	Cllr L Stephenson	Annual
Tweedmouth Community	Cllr K Graham	Annual
Football Club	Cllr B Parkin	