Skip to content
Home page
What's new
Site map
Frequently asked questions

Berwick-upon-Tweed Town Council,
Berwick WorkSpace,
Boarding School Yard,
90 Marygate,
TD15 1BN
T: 01289 302391

Follow us on Facebook

Contacting Northumberland County Council

Released on 23 January 2014

Since the new NCC unitary authority was formed in 2009, people wishing to phone County Hall in Morpeth have used the single ubiquitous number 0845 600 6400. This number has been fine for many users, but a costly option for others, whose mobile phones have levied a high charge for using 0845 numbers.

Now, the County Council has introduced a series of local ‘land-line' phone numbers, which may be a cheaper option than using the 0845 number. The new numbers are as follows:

  • 01670 627000 (areas covered include: Ashington, Bedlington, Blyth, Cramlington, Felton, Hartburn, Longhorsley, Lynemouth, Morpeth, Red Row, Scots Gap, Stannington, Ulgham and Whalton).
  • 01661 520005 (areas covered include: Belsay, Ponteland, Prudhoe, Stamfordham, Stocksfield and Wylam).
  • 01665 660733 (areas covered include: include Alnmouth, Alnwick, Amble, Charlton Mires, Chathill, Embleton, Longframlington, Longhoughton, Powburn, Seahouses, Shilbottle and Whittingham).
  • 01668 260355 (areas covered include: Bamburgh, Belford, Chatton, Milfield, Wooler and Wooperton).
  • 01669 220355 (areas covered include: Harbottle, Hepple, Netherton and Rothbury).
  • 01830 570085 (areas covered include: Kirkwhelpington and Otterburn).
  • 01289 540455 (areas covered include: Ancroft, Beal, Berwick-upon-Tweed, Holy Island (Lindisfarne), Lowick, Norham and Paxton).
  • 01434 400388 (areas covered include: Allendale, Allenheads, Bellingham, Blanchland, Corbridge, Great Whittington, Haltwhistle, Haydon Bridge, Hexham, Humshaugh, Newbrough, Riding Mill and Slaley).
  • 0191 5009044 (areas covered include: Seaton Delaval)

All of these numbers will be answered by the County Hall switchboard. The 0845 option will continue to be available for those who prefer it.

For those sending emails to councillors and staff of the County Council, an issue has recently come to light. In the past, a number of NCC email addresses were expanded to include the letters ‘gcsx.' This is a particular security status, which has since caused difficulties for councillors and staff who have needed to access their emails away from County Hall. Therefore, many NCC email addresses have recently reverted to their original format, ie removing ‘gcsx.'. In these instances, you will need to remove ‘gcsx.' from the address, for your email to reach the intended recipient.


<< News index